Skip to main content



The ELPAC is the required state test for English language proficiency (ELP) that must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English. State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of ELP to eligible students in kindergarten through grade twelve. The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards. It consists of two separate ELP assessments: one for the initial identification of students as English learners (ELs), and a second for the annual summative assessment to measure a student’s progress in learning English and to identify the student's level of ELP.

Date: 2/1/2023

ELPAC Overview

This video provides an overview of all the assessments part of the ELPAC.

California Assessment Accessibility Resources

The California Assessment Accessibility Resources Matrix (Accessibility Matrix) displays the embedded and non-embedded universal tools, designated supports, and accommodations (UDAs) allowed as part of the California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP) and English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC).

Test Results for California's Assessments
Correction of Classification Process At-a-glance

ELPAC Tools and Resources

ELPAC Task Types
ELPAC Information Guide
ELPAC Domain Information Sheets
Initial and Summative ELPAC Domain Exemption Decision-Making Tool
Alternate Assessment Decision-Making Tool for California