Skip to main content

Impact

Regional COE English Learner Specialist

Through partnership, the California Department of Education (CDE) and the California County Superintendents' Educational Services Association (CCSESA) designate Regional COE English Learner Specialists to provide technical assistance to the local educational agencies (LEAs) within each of the 11 County Superintendent regions. 

Click on the numbered regions to view the corresponding Regional County Office of Education English Learner Specialists (RELs).

RELs provided guidance and support to LEAs in the implementation and improvement of Title III programs as well as the development of the Local Control and Accountability Plan (LCAP) Addenda.

Region 1

REL Contact Information

Jenn Guerrero
Sonoma County Office of Education 5340 Skylane Blvd. Santa Rosa, CA 95403 707-524-2852; jguerrero@scoe.org

Region 2

REL Contact Information

Holly Harding
Butte County Office of Education 2491 Carmichael Drive, Suite 500 Chico, CA 95928 530-828-5299, hahmadi@bcoe.org

Region 3

REL Contact Information

Graciela Garcia-Torres
Sacramento County Office of Education, Planning and Improvement Department P.O. Box 269003 Sacramento, CA 95826-9003 916-228-2478, gtorres@scoe.onet

Region 4

REL Contact Information

Lilia Tsui
Contra Costa County Office of Education 77 Santa Barbara Road Pleasant Hill, CA 94523 925-942-5316, ltsui@cccoe.k12.ca.us

Region 5

REL Contact Information

Eric Scharer
Santa Clara County Office of Education 1290 Ridder Park Drive, MC 221 San Jose, CA 95131-2304 408-453-6687, escharer@sccoe.org

Region 6

REL Contact Information

Annie Duong
San Joaquin County Office of Education P.O. Box 213030 Stockton, CA 95213-9030 209-468-4865, aduong@sjcoe.net

Region 7

REL Contact Information

Gabriela Guzman
Tulare County Office of Education 7000 Doe Avenue, Suite A Visalia, CA 93291 559-302-3638 x3306, gabriela.guzman@tcoe.org

Region 8

REL Contact Information

Tara Clarke
Kern County Superintendent of Schools Office 1300 17th Street - City Centre Bakersfield, CA 93301 661-636-4657, taclarke@kern.org

Region 9

REL Contact Information

Antonio "Tony" Mora
San Diego County Office of Education 6401 LInda Vista Raod #321N San Diego, CA 92111-7399 858-295-8832, amora@sdcoe.net

Region 10

REL Contact Information

Lisa Winberg
Riverside County Office of Education 38670 Sky Canyon Drive Murrieta, CA 92563 951-249-8822, lwinberg@rcoe.us

Region 11

REL Contact Information

Soomin Chao
Los Angeles County Office of Education Multilingual Academic Supporet Unit Education Center West 12830 Columbia Way Downey, CA 90242 562-922-6332, chao_soomin@lacoe.edu

Region 2 Region 1 Region 3 Region 5 Region 6 Region 7 Region 8 Region 9 Region 10 Region 11 Region 4-1 Region 4-2 Region 4-3